Sweet!

Alexana 2009 Willamette Valley pinot noir is now in my glass. Whoa, first thing I notice is the fizziness on my tongue as I take the first sip. The next thing I notice is the copious amounts of sugar on my tastebuds. I give it another try, and I get the exact same impression. Into the spitoon. Next!

Published in: on August 18, 2012 at 11:55 pm  Leave a Comment  

Duck yeah!

I don’t envy the wine that follows my favorite Claret, but I just got poured Paraduxx’s 2009 Z Blend, a zinfandel-heavy red blend from the people of Duckhorn. Um, YES. I have to say, it’s quite smooth and delicious! Very nice, balanced, fruity without being sweet. At $48/bottle retail, I’m chugging this one before moving onto the next!

Published in: on August 18, 2012 at 11:51 pm  Leave a Comment  

Clare-yay!

Next up is one of my absolute favorite everyday wines of all time: Coppola Claret. Awesomesauce! I feel right at home, almost like it’s time to watch The Bachelor. Great balance, delicious spice and smooth finish, it’s the wine I’ve grown to love the trust.

Published in: on August 18, 2012 at 11:46 pm  Leave a Comment  

No f*cking merlot!

Day two of the Wine Bloggers Convention in Portland, and we just finished listening to our second keynote speaker, Rex Pickett, author of Sideways. Brings me back to wine tasting in SLO, so I’m in the mood for some good reds. And I’m in luck, because now we’re about to start the next Live Blog session for red wines. First up is Van Duzer vineyards of Willamette Valley with a Pinot Noir. They call it the New Duzer, and it’s quite nice! Some spice and heft for a pinot, very big and lovely – and since this is my first sip of the day I can say that with complete clarity! Off to a great start.

Published in: on August 18, 2012 at 11:40 pm  Leave a Comment